Our Governors

Skylark Federation was formed in July 2020 when the governing bodies of Appleshaw St Peter's and Kimpton, Thruxton & Fyfield Church of England Primary Schools voted to become one, with one Executive Headteacher in charge of both schools. This was done in the interests of improving the education offered by both schools through collaboration/sharing best practice across the two schools.

Skylark Governing Body is made up of a group of volunteers from diverse social and professional backgrounds who have come together in service to the local community, happy to give up our time for the worthwhile aim of providing children with the best start to their education as possible.

We have three core functions:

  • to ensure the federation has a clear vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • to hold the Executive Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the schools
  • to oversee the financial performance of the schools and ensure money is well spent

We meet as the Skylark Federation Governing Body three times a term to discuss and take decisions on the various aspects of our role. Governors have individual responsibilities for specific statutory and/or school improvement areas which are undertaken between and reported back on at meetings. Governors are also encouraged to attend relevant training to ensure that we are able to fulfill our responsibilities as professionally and effectively as possible - governors are part of the official leadership of the school and the role has be taken on after serious consideration.

If being a governor is something you feel you might find interesting and have time for, please check out our vacancies or contact myself at for an informal chat/further information. (p.christie@skylarkfed.co.uk)

Peter Christie,
Chair of Governors, Skylark Federation


School Governors (ID 1012)

  • Mr Peter Christie
    Chair of Governors
  • Mrs Ros Bass
    Foundation Governor
  • Mr Edward Bailey
    Foundation Governor
  • Mr James Cripps
    Foundation Governor
  • Mrs Morwenna Glover
    Staff Governor
  • Mr Shawn Manning
    Foundation Governor
  • Mrs Sarah Sharland
    Ex-Officio Governor
  • Mr Tom Featherby
    Foundation Governor
  • Mrs Katie Tricker
    Foundation Governor
  • Mrs Amelia Norman
    Parent Governor