Appleshaw St Peter's

Church of England Primary School


Skylark Federation was formed in July 2020 when the governing bodies of Appleshaw St. Peter’s and Kimpton, Thruxton and Fyfield Church of England Primary Schools voted to become one, with one Executive Headteacher in charge of both schools. This was done in the interests of improving the education offered by both schools through collaboration/sharing best practice across the two schools. 

Skylark Governing Body is made up of a group of volunteers from diverse social and professional  backgrounds who have come together in service to the local community, happy to give up our time for the worthwhile aim of providing children with the best start to their education as is possible.

We have three core functions:

  • To ensure the federation has a clear vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • To hold the Executive Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the schools;
  • To oversee the financial performance of the schools and ensure money is well spent.

We meet as the Skylark Federation Governing Body three times a term to discuss and take decisions on the various aspects of our role. Governors have individual responsibilities for specific statutory and/or school improvement areas which are undertaken between and reported back on at meetings. Governors are also encouraged to attend relevant training to ensure that we are able to fulfil our responsibilities as professionally and effectively as possible – governors are part of the official leadership of the school and the role has to be taken on after serious consideration.

If being a governor is something you feel you might find interesting and have time for please check out our vacancies or contact myself at for an informal chat/further information.


Debbie Henrys

Chair of Governors, Skylark Federation